Challenge Accepted

My sister lives in California.  This makes me especially sad because three pieces of my heart live in California with her. The first part, Catie, she’s my girl. She’s my Catie: I’m her Aunt Pim. We just fit.

I’m always anxiously waiting at the airport. And I always rush to scoop up my Catie first. That hug brings our hearts back together. It connects us after too long a time apart. Her twiggy little arms wrap around me and my untwiggy arms wrap round her. I get to smell the California sunshine and she gets to smell the Chicago cold. The time just melts away and it’s like she was never gone. It’s the best moment of our visit.

When she was about six, she said, “Aunt Pim, I’m too big now, you can’t pick me up anymore!.” Oh, challenge accepted my dear.

She’s 12 now. I still scoop her up every time she arrives or I arrive.

I don’t think she minds.

6 thoughts on “Challenge Accepted

  1. Who ever said absence makes the heart grow fonder knew a little bit about aunts and nieces. I’m afraid it’s my nephew that does this for me. He’s 8 and I love him to death. I don’t have any sons, so if my sister would let me, I’d steal him.

  2. Beautiful! I love the fact that you still “scoop her up,” even at the age of 12, and that “she doesn’t mind!” I bet she LOVES it! What great memories!

    My niece lives in California. She just had her first child, Miss Mimi (Miriam). It’s sad to have someone you love so much live so far away. I will remember this post as Mimi grows…And I hope to scoop her up for many years!

    Thanks for sharing!

  3. So sweet. I feel the same way about my niece except she lives a few blocks away. I will pick her up and swing her around until I’m physically unable. I pretended she was mine when she was born and a little part of me still believes that she is. I love this post. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you for your comment

