The Vault

I know a vault. You may think you know one. Someone who can
lock it away. No matter what the “it” may be, they can secure it and no one can
crack that combination. Your vault may be a best friend, a sister, a mom.  Most
of the time we treasure the vaults we know.

The trouble is this: I really need to crack into this particular vault. In this vault sits the pain of
a broken family. In this vault lies the heartbreak of parents dating someone
other than each other. In this vault rests the realization that everything is
changed and will never ever be the same. This vault is overrun with the fear
that all this means that there this just a little less love to go around.

Of course, this is just what I suspect is in this vault. Because it’s
just that sealed up. The best thief in the world can’t crack this one.

But… some of my heart sits in this vault too. I hope that if I close my
eyes and concentrate, that maybe, just maybe, my heart can shine with enough
love to bring some light in. If I can find a sliver of light, I might be able to
find a way in.

She needs someone to find a way in.

One thought on “The Vault

  1. Whoa. I had to re-read this a number of times. It made me sad. But, ultimately happy that you are there and you notice that this person needs you. I think I do know one or two people like this….makes me think more about them. “In this vault rests the realization that everything is changed and will never ever be the same.” I think I felt like that as a teenager when my parents got divorced. Powerful stuff.

Thank you for your comment

