The Beginning of the End

The dog days of summer. They really just began.

Frolicking in the sand (box),
trekking to the giant ice cream cone for a lick or three,
waking up with the sun only to stretch once and then drift back to sleep,
floating across the pool after jumping in cannonball style,
rolling to the park before the slide is too hot,
catching lightning bugs only to feel sad for them and ultimately let them go.

Summer isn’t over yet. But it’s close.

The first sign is the aisle after aisle of brightly colored school supplies that inevitably call my name as I walk by.

The second sign is the ding of that first email sending the school supply list for the fall.

The final sign arrives in the mailbox. It hasn’t come yet, so my summer will continue as planned.

Excuse me while I go frolic, trek, wake, stretch, drift, float, roll, and catch.

For just a bit longer. But I’ll take it while I can get it.

4 thoughts on “The Beginning of the End

  1. It’s going so fast, you are right! Enjoy every lazy minute in that sandbox and pool! BTW…that letter will probably make it to your mailbox by next Wed. Hee hee!

  2. I love the dog days! And I’ve seen the school supplies at Target, but no letter in the mailbox! I plan to join you for a few more days of frolicking, stretching, and breathing!

Thank you for your comment

