Dear Body

Dear Body,

It’s been 35 years, one week, and one day of togetherness now.  We have had some pretty good times. Remember how you used to scramble up the tree down the street to save yourself from the danger of being the youngest kid amongst the oldest kids? Remember those endless summer days swimming round and round the pool? Remember how you used to sail across the rink to impress that pimple covered bespectacled boy? Remember how you used to train 3 hours a day to be able to keep up on the court?

I remember. I saw one of those postcards everyone is endlessly posting online the other day. It read, “I wish I was fat like the first time I thought I was fat.” Well, the first time I thought you were fat was in high school. You were a size 8, Perspective sure does change this many years later huh? I feel like we are so far apart. Me…………………You.

Well body,  the time has come to reconnect. WE need to work together again. I’d really like to scramble up a tree with my daughter. I’d really like to spend an endless summer day floating across the pool with her. I’d really like to sail across a rink holding her hand to impress her tall, dark, and handsome daddy. I can’t say I’d really like to train three hours a day, but we certainly can work something out.

So what you do you say body? Are you in? I’d dare say that you really have no choice now. Because I am in, and since we are together and all, guess what? You in too! I know it’s scary, terrifying really, but we can do this. We have to do this. It’s time.

Love,
Me

7 thoughts on “Dear Body

  1. I love this! I absolutely can connect with that feeling. I wish I could go back to high school with the perspective I now have and go easy on myself. Man, what I wouldn’t give to have that size body again! Good luck with your reconnecting and I hope for a positive journey to where you want to be.

  2. Love your format! I was smiling the entire time I was reading! My favorite line: “I feel like we are so far apart. Me…….You.” I get it! You brought to light the feeling so many of us have – like our body acts independently of our brain! Good job bringing the two together!

Thank you for your comment

