The Little Things

I am on a campaign to notice and enjoy the little things in life. Oftentimes I am in major panic mode over one thing or another. Anyone who knows me well enough can attest to my ability to ignore the giant mess around me and then obsess over the smallest of problems to the point of being completely useless. The giant things I can block out. I’ve been known to put black electrical tape over an engine light in my car and yet not be able to function when it smells a little bit from having a child and the messiest adult in the world cohabitate in said car.

So, that brings me to my campaign. Stop. Notice. Smile. I’m going to make a bumper sticker.  I’m in a photo challenge on Instagram, and while I honestly need very little more technology in my life, it has forced me to look at the world a bit differently. I find myself thinking of things to fit the challenge and they are all stopping and making me smile.

Stop. Notice how nice the dispenser is on my new bottle of laundry detergent. Smile.
Stop. Notice how the weather has been nice enough to not melt my ice cream cones. Smile.
Stop. Notice how the breeze flows through the windows. Smile
Stop. Notice how silly my daughter can be when I’m looking and how sweet she can be when she thinks I’m not. Smile.

Stop. Notice. Smile

 

5 thoughts on “The Little Things

  1. It’s those little things that make our lives worthwhile. I think that I have noticed so much more since I’ve been writing these slices and since I have grandkids. So, I agree – Stop, Notice. Smile every day!

  2. I feel exactly the same way about the Instagram photo challenge!!! It’s been like the March writing challenge in so many ways. First and foremost…. it’s caused me to slow down and think. I’m going to add Notice and Smile. Thanks.

Thank you for your comment

