Riding a Different Bike

Today we woke up at 6 in the morning. We have been sleeping until at least 7 everyday and if this momma had her way I would sleep until 10. However, I have the early bird child and she’s always searching to get that worm. She was excited to go into my classroom office today and her unbridled enthusiasm is a bit contagious. 🙂

I have the same enthusiasm, albeit I am walking a bit slower than she this morning. Not because I lack excitement. I am beyond excited but it’s interwoven with threads of nervousness. Like I am walking around in the dark and I kind of know where I am going, but am guaranteed to stub my toe or bang a knee a few times.

It’s all different.

School supply sales have been passed up, there’s been no marked up map of my classroom, there has been no fine tuning of opening day lessons, I haven’t stalked garage sales for books, I have no picture of my kiddos in my mind’s eye.

There was a visit to an office supply store, there is a little map marked up of an 8 x10 space, there has been endless thinking of opening day support, I have read more books than ever, and that picture of my kiddos. Well, that part of my mind is actually bursting with more kids than I can imagine who are joined by the best teachers I know.

I’ve always joked that going back to school is slightly akin to riding a bike. You never really forget, you’re nervous before you get on, you don’t want to fall, you’re a little shaky at first and then you hit your stride and great things happen.

I’m just riding a different bike now.

7 thoughts on “Riding a Different Bike

  1. What a great piece! I felt every word of it as if I was there with you….wait! I am there with you – in moral support, if not physically! You have prepared for many years to straddle this new bike and it’s going to be a great ride!

  2. Starting a new phase in your career is always scary, but usually so worth it in the end. Here’s to hopping on that bike and pedaling your way into a new comfort zone.

  3. I love this piece! The bicycle analogy was wonderful. I was just telling my husband last night that I don’t remember how to teach anymore- the summer erased it. But I feel like that every year. It does feel wobbly at first and then I remember! You will be wonderful on your new bike!

Thank you for your comment

