The Ultimate Betrayal

You took me by surprise this morning, a stealthy sneak attack to progress. The numbers didn’t lie. Definitely in the upward direction when all should be decreasing. The wind let out of my sails, the balloon deflated, my hopes were dashed. How could you do this to me? We had an agreement and here you sit, in such blatant disregard.

What’s that you say?

It is I who dared to turn a blind eye to you? I know not of what you speak.

The candy on the counter? Wasn’t me.
The soda in excess? Wasn’t me.
The pizza pie delivered to our door? Wasn’t me.

Apparently we have had an intruder. Who dares to meddle with my graph that had a lovely continuous dip and now has a blazing upward spike?

Stress, anxiety, worry, tension, pressure, strain…

You call them excuses. I just want my graph to dip again. No more betrayal. We had a deal.

I need a donut.
I mean an apple.

Darn it.

7 thoughts on “The Ultimate Betrayal

  1. Spoken like a true Weight Watcheree. Lol! Oh, how I relate to this as I gobble up my pumpkin muffin from the Dunk.
    Love the voice in this piece, Kim. I really did lol.

  2. Funny that I wrote a post related to this. I believe humor helps to get back on track. I’ll do it as soon as I finish my chocolate. 🙂

  3. I love the humor, and can so relate after battling a cold through parent conferences last week. That upward creep just might be related to the overwhelming laziness I feel this week and the utter lack of physical activity for way too long!

Thank you for your comment

