Five Minute Friday: Laundry

Laundry.

Those seven letters strung together defeat me. The never-ending piles strewn to and fro; in the bedroom, in the hallway, in the other bedroom, in the basement, in the bathroom, on the stairs, in the laundry room… pretty much anywhere BUT where they should be. Life just gets busy and the busy keeps you from noticing those piles so much.

I suppose I should care more. I suppose I should wrangle it all together. But it is defeating. Especially when you have a four-year old. A four-year old who doesn’t always remember where it belongs either. Especially when it is particularly unclean.  So, naturally, she places it in a place I shall never find it.

Until I catch a whiff while we are on the floor playing in her room. My eyes start to water as I get closer and discover, much to my chagrin, that right there, stuffed behind the books on her bookshelf, is a crumpled and crusty pair of Dora the Explorer undies.

I am defeated before I even begin.

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Laundry

  1. Aww you poor girl. I remember the poop pants days.. they are rough! I still feel your pain on so many levels. though.
    I love, “pretty much anywhere BUT where they should be. Life just gets busy and the busy keeps you from noticing those piles so much.” Yes! What’s with the blinders? The blinders that stay fastened until it is incredibly too late and the home has experienced a laundry eruption. Massive explosion.. everywhere. Ugh. Funny, I just left two blogs where the authors wrote about how beautiful the stories that clothes from our laundry can tell… Then I got all mushy and “awwww.. yes, it’s beautiful.” Your post brought me write back to reality. Hahaa.

  2. You made my laugh with your words. Thank you. I wish I could say as they get older they stop stuffing laundry, but around my house there is a 7,8.9. and 12 year old and they ALL still stuff. (Although thankfully it usually isn’t undies!) Thanks for writing today, Ruth

Thank you for your comment

