Welcome to the World of Slicing Slicers!

This post is to the brave student writers undertaking this slicing thing we teachers are so excited about. We are so excited to have you join us in this challenge and have the highest of hopes for you and your writing selves.

We hope:

  • You will broaden your writing self and really start to look at the world around you like a writer.
  • You will know that you are a writer because you have something to say. Lots to say.
  • That you will use your new writer’s eyes and notice so many new discoveries that you can write about.
  • You will grow in your craft and be inspired to try new things in your writing.
  • That you will LOVE writing more than you do now.
  • Your room will become an even “tighter” writing community and that you will really care about your fellow writers.
  • That you will feel safe to share your writing with those around you.
  • You will know the joy of having other writers comment on the great things you did as a writer.
  • You will look at other writers’ writing and have comments flow freely to boost their writing self.

It is going to be so much fun slicing with all of you!

So…
3rd Graders

Rock this out and be the awesome writers we know that you are!

Happy Slicing!

 

 

7 thoughts on “Welcome to the World of Slicing Slicers!

  1. How exciting that these brave, young writers are going to be slicing! This will be my first time slicing, too. Good luck, fellow writers!

  2. Wow! Good luck third graders!! I have been Slicing for a whole year now, and I can tell you that it has changed my life. It has made me a better writer in so many ways: I’m more confident in my ability to write. I find stories everywhere. I enjoy writing.
    This will happen to you, too. Congratulations on being brave and taking on this challenge! You’ll be so glad that you did!

  3. How I wish I had been introduced to writing Slice of Life stories when I was in 3rd grade! You guys are SO lucky!! I fully expect to be buying and reading the work you produce as you grow older because you’ve had the opportunity to write your stories NOW in elementary school. Good luck and go forth and write!

  4. I’m so excited for you! I can’t wait to read some of your Slice of Life stories! I’m doing this for the first time too and am glad that I’m not alone. Be brave, little slicers and be proud of the work that you do!

  5. Congrats 3rd Graders on becoming part of the SOL club!! I know how putting your writing, “out there,” into the big deep cyber space world can be scary. Let it be scary. It’s got nothing on you. You all have lots to say and I can’t wait to read it and become inspired. Be yourself. Take risks! “A ship is always safe in the harbor- but that is NOT what it’s built for.” <— that's a quote from my buddy Albert Einstein. Get ready to set sail, guys! I'm so happy you're all along for the ride. 🙂

  6. My goodness where has the time gone?
    Just last year in second grade you were perfecting “making books”, fiction and non-fiction. Now in March 2014, you are ready to “slice” on a blog! I am looking forward to reading your slices.

Thank you for your comment

