Not Ready

I was 23.
Decisions to be made, beneficiaries to be named, authority to be given, affairs to be put in order.
I didn’t need to be ready.
She was there.

I was 30
Decisions to be made, beneficiaries to be named, authority to be given, affairs to be put in order.
I wasn’t ready
But she needed me to be.
He wasn’t there.

I am 35
Decisions to be made, beneficiaries to be named, authority to be given, affairs to be put in order.
I’m not ready.
But they need me to be.

So I’m ready.

Except I’m not.

 

 

13 thoughts on “Not Ready

  1. This is a beautiful poem. The comments above kind of captured my thoughts about it. I love the repetition and the differences, the ages, the readiness, etc. I’m glad I finally was able to find your writing. I’ve appreciated your comments about mine!

    • Thanks Richard! I’ve so enjoyed reading about your journey. They’re inspiring. Although I doubt I will find myself on a bike anytime soon. 🙂

Thank you for your comment

