A Wall of Love

I left the fours walls of my own classroom for the four walls of many different classrooms this year. It has been a roller coaster of challenges and rewards. Through the year I started to notice that there has been a piece of my own classroom that I have been missing.

In my own classroom I had a small section of wall devoted to it. I’m talking about love. Yes, we had a love for learning and a love for knowledge for sure. But there was also just plain love. Love for each other. Love for the school. And love for the teacher. This was third grade. There’s a lot of love.

The wall held notes, pictures, cards, and drawings all done by the hands of students. It was a selfishly favorite part of my room, always. Notes with a misspelled name about how much fun they had on our field trip. Pictures of our class with their arms around each other making funny faces. Cards to a misspelled name in honor of any random holiday. Drawings of sharks, drawings of me, drawings of themselves and our class. Every last one special.

If I am being honest, I have missed that wall this year. It’s nice to be on the receiving end of all that love, even when the tricky name is misspelled. It’s silly I know. I get to walk down the hall and talk to the little ones and the big ones now. I get to see classes full of many more kids with the same love for learning and knowledge. And it has been amazing. But…

What makes me think of this now? I’ve been in all these rooms since the fall.. why now? Because I got this just the other day:

teacher love

It’s on my new wall now. It might be in an office but I have two of those now, so I get two walls. The name is still misspelled. The feeling is still the same.

 

11 thoughts on “A Wall of Love

  1. The Love Wall – that’s a great name for it! I have one too. I just didn’t have a name for it. You are so right – there is a lot of love in third grade.

  2. It can get very lonely when you don’t have your own classroom anymore. But, we make our opportunities to connect with kids wherever we can….and you clearly have done this as I look at that beautiful LOVE note! Keep it up!

  3. This is so great Kim. You are impacting hundreds of students and nurturing lifelong learners and the love of literacy. This little misspelled note says a thousand words. Melts my heart. 🙂

  4. OMG!! Could this be any sweeter? This slice made me feel all mushy inside. Just think about how many young lives you are touching, and the impact you are having on them….and their futures!!!!!!!!!!!!! Writing is amazing because of Mrs. Koler….. Now that’s what I’m talkin’ about!! 🙂 Big XO on this slice!

  5. I have been in your shoes, and am now back in a building working with kids and I have my wall back! However, I am looking at being out of the building next year and you have just written one of my greatest fears about potentially changing jobs…

  6. When I switched to the big kids, I wondered about my little notes….will big kids still be into that? Do they still share? Every year they get bigger, the notes become more powerful, the pictures a tad grander, my reaction still the same! Enjoy your notes of love.

Thank you for your comment

