Book Spine Poetry on a Poemy Monday

There have been a lot of book spines under scrutiny lately. Teachers and writers perusing the stacks for the perfect choices. Stacking and restacking to find the perfect combination. These book spine poems are inspiring and a perfect way to play with words without the pressure of coming up with said words. Perfect for beginning poets, perfect for writers looking for new ways to say things. Give it a try! You will find that you love it. Here are a few of my most recent tries compiled in one office and then another and finally from my daughter’s shelves.

slice picture 14The call of the wild.
Ralph tells a story.
The forever dog,
interrupting chicken,
never smile at a monkey.
Animals nobody loves.

 

 

slice picture 12How to write your life story,
in my momma’s kitchen.
Looking back,
big book of WHY.
The memory string,
adaptation,
childtimes.
Treasures in the dust.

 

slice picture 11

We’re going on a bear hunt,
I wish I were a princess.
My monster mama loves me so.
I love you through and through,
Dreams come true.

 

8 thoughts on “Book Spine Poetry on a Poemy Monday

  1. These are fantastic! What a great way to show this type of poetry! I light have to show this one to my students 🙂 I love the last one- the monsters and princesses…great!!

  2. That is awesome! I have so many children’s books laying around that I could do that with. In fact, after I’m done commenting for the day, and My Little Pony is over (I gave myself a 20 minute break to do my comments) I’m going to do some poems! Thanks, Rich

Thank you for your comment

