Sick

The ever circling germs encompassed our house yet again in recent days. We have the care down to a science at this point. At least we do when it’s the little one that has the germs. What happens when mommy has them? Who takes care of mommy? The answer is of course mommy.

When I was little, my mom had the care down to a science as well. 7up, cartoons on the tv, cool cloths on the forehead, toast with just a hint of butter, and the coup de gras: homemade chicken soup. The feeling of being taken care of was unparalleled.  That someone was taking on your burden for a little while so you could concentrate on getting better.

Mmm, Mmmm, good.

Germs, Germs, go away, come again another day.

These days I’m navigating these germy waters on my own. There is still 7up, tv, cool cloths, toast with a just a hint of butter, and chicken soup. So why do those pesky buggers hang on for dear life so long? Evolution of the germs? I think not.   I’m starting to think that a big ol’ piece of the puzzle is missing. The single reason that the germs just keep circling around our roof like a venue of vultures waiting to feast.

There is no homemade chicken soup.

Mom?

 

9 thoughts on “Sick

  1. Ugh, I hope you feel better soon. That’s the worst. It’s circling around my family too– so far my sister, sister-n-law and dad have had a stomach bug. Crossing my fingers that it doesn’t get me! Get some rest, I hope you can get some homemade chicken soup. 🙂

  2. This was great- it is so honest, because if course, we have to take care of ourselves when the germs take over! I hope you are feeling better- hopefully you got your chicken soup!!!!

  3. Great story! Although the subject matter is a complete bummer. These words made we want to know… what!!? “I’m starting to think that a big ol’ piece of the puzzle is missing. The single reason that the germs just keep circling around our roof like a venue of vultures waiting to feast.” And honestly, I’ve heard there is some science behind chicken soup’s healing powers! Hope all is better soon.

  4. “Germs germs go away” How sweet and sad at the same time! Oh friend, we were declared strep round her last week by both kids. I feel your pain. And my throat was bad and wouldn’t you know no such this gas gluten free chicken soup that doesn’t suck or isn’t homemade. At least you can still write 🙂

  5. You made me think of my mom taking care of me when I was younger. She still asks if I need anything till this day when I’m sick. I almost enjoyed being sick as kid because my mom took such good care of us.

Thank you for your comment

