Alone – Poemy Monday #1

She walks into her house and is greeted by the warm purr wrapping around her legs.
She is not alone.  

She always has a date for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.
She is not alone.  

She keeps in touch, multiple times per day.
She is not alone.

She has sat across from doctor after doctor holding the hand of someone she loves.
She is not alone.  

She has been hugged and wished well by countless people.
She is not alone.  

She has family that is there at the drop of a hat, no matter the reason.
She is not alone.  

She has friends lined up around the block to offer a shower of compassionate help.
She is not alone.  

She stands strong and takes the barrage of news from doctor after doctor.
The opinions and stories of person after person.
Raining down all around her. 
 

And it’s there that she wonders,

with all that she has,
why does she feel so…

alone?

 

14 thoughts on “Alone – Poemy Monday #1

  1. Isn’t it amazing that when you are surrounded by people, sometimes that is the moment you feel most alone.

  2. So bittersweet…you have captured how, even though we have people around us, we can feel alone…I am excited thread more from your porky Monday’s!

  3. Kim, I was so excited when I saw Poemy Mondays were back, but then I read this and my heart sank. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a beautiful poem. But, as Katie would say, I don’t yike this.

    You are NOT alone.

    Life has a funny way of not giving us the one thing we most desperately want. I don’t know why. I’m sorry. I’m here if you want to talk – or cry – or drink. 🙂

    • Thank you so much for your comment- I’ve seen too many people go through what you’ve gone through and you’re an inspiration for the rest of us. I’m so glad you found something to connect with.

  4. I have a feeling I’m going to recall lots of emotions from my own life as you go down this road. In fact, I wrote a slice last year that was about Kathy being “alone” even though I was right there beside her the majority of the time. The word “alone” really resonates with this journey. Hang in there. Being a support to your aunt is exactly what she needs right now in order to feel that she is not alone. We’re all with you, so you are not alone either.

Thank you for your comment

