The Possibilities

FullSizeRenderI am a colonial maiden furtively looking all around before sneaking the rolled parchment into my skirt folds.

I am a treasure hunter uncovering the next clue behind the span of golden wings.

I am Amy keeping watch while Dan uses his mad math skills to unlock the puzzle of the numbers.

I am Griphook, hobbling to guard the secret in the smallest of vaults within Gringotts.

All of these scenarios are playing out in my mind the moment I stop in my tracks upon seeing these bronze boxes, no bigger than two stacked fists. The intricate detail, the combination type dial, the sheer number of boxes stacked into the brick wall. All these things run rapid-fire through my reader’s mind and I am snapping a picture before I can even stop myself. Just thinking I need to save these somehow. It takes a few glorious minutes of imagining to pull me out of my reverie to realize:

I am in line to buy a book at a conference.

I am decidedly not a colonial maiden.

I do not have goblin’ish features.

I am looking at quite possibly the coolest university mailboxes in existence.

FullSizeRender[1]@ Judson University
Elgin, Illinois

12 thoughts on “The Possibilities

  1. We would love to pass this on to some of the writing teachers at our schools. What a powerful “snapshot” moment of writing. We love reading these types of unexpected posts. ~ Jen and Darla

  2. I hope I can use this for a picture moment for my students’ slice post, too, Kim. They just don’t make them like they used to, do they? Love your imagined scenarios, too.

  3. Funny that I stood in the same line to buy the same book and the same conference… and didn’t even notice these mailboxes at all—- let alone let them transport me to some magical land! Open your eyes, Dana!

    • It’s partly cause I was in line FOREVER waiting and partly because I am obsessed with all things antique and even the slightest bit treasure hunty. 😉

  4. Wow!! Talk about “noticings”….this is a classic example. Makes me wish I was standing in line with you. I feel as though I missed out on a very magical moment. Truly, something to strive for in my writing! Absolutely Love!!!

Thank you for your comment

