Knock Knock, Silent Treatment

“Madison, please stop talking.”

It was The Voice time and time we usually spend together commenting on how much we like or don’t like the singers and how much she wants them to always pick Christina. 

Tonight though she decides that her main goal in life is to annoy me with some incessant noise making and talking. 

“Knock knock mommy.” 

“Madison please stop.” 

“Random spit in the mouth swishing sound that is nationally known as spine tingling to me.” 

“Madison Ingrid, 1…”

Yeah. I count. Not my proudest mommy moment ever. And her least favorite thing in contrast to, who’s there? 

But she stops spit swishing and she stops talking. Success. 

Bedtime rolls around and it’s Daddy’s turn at bat. He hits one out of the ballpark and giggles abound. I lean in for my kiss goodnight and feel nothing but air as she sprints away and sails up the stairs. 

I get out the crutches and get help off the couch and go upstairs to give a proper goodnight. 

Radio silence.
No dice.
No hidden smirk.
Barely a glance in my direction. 

I’m getting the silent treatment from my six-year-old. In a moment of hurt I head back downstairs and finish my show. I’m not sure who’s singing or who they choose. 

Before I go to bed I sneak into her room and softly kiss her cheek over and over and whisper how much I love her and that I love her knock, knock jokes. 

I go to sleep with a little lighter of a heart not quite healed. 

Morning comes and I feel a kiss on my cheek. I squeeze open my eyes and smile. 

“Knock knock, mommy.”

“Who’s there, Maddie?” 

11 thoughts on “Knock Knock, Silent Treatment

  1. Forgive and forget. An important lesson we can all learn from 6 year olds. She also let us know that it doesn’t happen right away, but it can happen over night! 🙂

  2. “Before I go to bed I sneak into her room and softly kiss her cheek over and over and whisper how much I love her and that I love her knock, knock jokes.” GUILTY of the same! 🙂 I was feeling your pain. But…you are human too and have needs. Don’t beat yourself up. You don’t have to be perfect to be a fantastic mom! Just keep on sister!

  3. Oooh dag, girls are terrific at that from what I hear. I was the queen of it and so thankful I don’t have a mini miss me or I’d lose it. I love how you crafted the dialogue here. Esp the middle naming. That’s the part I felt jump off the page. It really conveyed your mood at that moment. Sweet ending though.

  4. Thank you for bringing back memories in your well-written slice. That six-year-old annoying chatter has become heart-to-heart chats… and I love every minute of it.

  5. I filled up reading this because we have our moments (we are human) and then we feel terrible and overwhelmingly grateful for our little chattering gifts/children. Thanks for such an honest slice.

  6. “I go to sleep with a little lighter of a heart not quite healed.” I keep on going back to this sentence. Such a beautifully crafted sentence…well, really they all are! Although the heart was not healed that night, the morning made up for it, and then some.

Thank you for your comment

