The Moments In Between

The moment in between racing upstairs to bed and bedtime: I stand at the bottom of the stairs and listen to that little squeal of victory and I know I am blessed. 

The moment in between cooking dinner and sitting down to eat the dinner: I reach up for three plates out of the cabinet and feel his arms wrap around me and I know I am blessed. 

The moment in between starting the car and loading up all the trappings of work and school: the sun shines down and warms my face and I know I am blessed. 

The moment in between the end of the conversation and the goodbye: we pause in a comfortable silence of I love yous and I know I am blessed.

The moment in between the joke and the punchline: her shoulders shake with laughter and pride at her own comedic genius and I know I am blessed. 

The moments in between show me where I should be most grateful. 

12 thoughts on “The Moments In Between

  1. How wonderful to take a moment and realize our blessings. It’s so easy to get caught up in the running around and moving quickly from one thing to another. The moments in between are lovely and valuable!

  2. That is pretty special not only to take note of the big moments but for the valuable of the moments in between too! Sometimes we get caught in the rush to hurry on to the next moment, when we should just sit and savor and know we are blessed.

  3. Wow! How truly lovely are the moments in between. Loved the format and may try it myself, if you don’t mind! Your post was a wonderful reminder to be thankful of the little moments in between!

  4. What a blessing those moments are! I love the structure and flow of this piece…I found myself at the end wanting more of these moments to read about!

  5. Love. I esp love the line of you reaching for the plates between preparing and eating, and you knowing. How many of us an relate to that exact task every single night. How beautiful for you to hit pause and reflect in that sliver of a moment. Another beauty, “The moment in between the end of the conversation and the goodbye: we pause in a comfortable silence of I love yous and I know I am blessed.” Well now. “…we pause in the comfortable silence of I love yous” YES. That required a double citation reference. It’s that beautiful.

  6. This was absolutely lovely. Another post of yours that made me cry. I love that you think of those moments in between and are grateful.

Thank you for your comment

