Banana Bop

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Growing up I often had a sore arm as a result of the rousing games of punch bug that took place between my siblings and I during car rides. Punch bugs are beetles. More specifically, a Volkswagen Beetle, more commonly referred to in my world, as a bug.

The goal of the game was to be the first to spot a punch bug. If you were the eagle-eyed winner, you would holler, PUNCH BUG!, and punch the younger sister next you who never quite seemed to figure out how to spot the dang things sooner than everyone else.

Fast forward  and that thing called adulthood had separated us from this tradition.

“BANANA BOP!!!!!” comes the cry from the backseat that almost makes me rear end the poor student driver in front of me (no joke).

“Madison Ingrid Koehler, we do not holler out when someone else is driving, blah blah blah blah blah.”

“But mom, it’s a yellow car, those are banana bops. When you see one, you have to say banana bop first and hit the top of the car. It’s the GAME, mom.”

Oh, the memories. My arm starts tingling as she describes this newfound fun garnered from her cousins. I am somehow grateful that it was not called banana punch.

Thus began my complete and utter bewilderment at the number of people in this fine world that choose to drive a bright yellow car. At one point, from a trip to my mom’s and back the score was Maddie-9 and Mommy-4. The rules clearly state no repeats.

My mom lives 7 miles away.

I have since shared my own childhood game with Maddie and we’ve thankfully resorted to doing our best to not holler too loud when we make a discovery. On one of those trips my heart smiled and worlds collided.

Maddie found the holy grail.

A Punch Bug Banana Bop

 

 

3 thoughts on “Banana Bop

  1. Love, so much love in this. As I was reading I was thinking, “Whoa, wouldn’t that be something to find a yellow bug?” But, alas, I should have known that Maddie would beat me to it 🙂

  2. Oh, I love this slice! I smiled the whole time I was reading it. And the ending- a punch bug banana bop-how perfect is that?! This takes me back to my own childhood. The long drives in our family’s station wagon. All the wild games the 5 of us kids would play! Oh, the memories!

Thank you for your comment

