When Advil and Ice Simply Don’t Suffice

Advil, hobble, ice, repeat.

“Mommy can’t beat us, she’s too slow!”

5 months of these words and this routine and it’s time to wave the white flag.

Walking through my house, trying to view it through the eyes of someone on crutches, is a tough task. Partly because I can’t walk so well today and partly because I have never been on crutches in my life.

I’m noticing that my staircase bookcase might need to get the boot.
I’m noticing that the coffee table might need to get scooted over.
I’m noticing that our 7 steps up might be too many.
I’m noticing that our couch is nicely suited for “deep couch sitting.”

I’m realizing I won’t be able get around and do all the things I do now. Things will be tough. Mobility will be worse than it is now. So I am thinking this hobbling isn’t so bad. I can make it work.

Then I am noticing the pile of pictures already drawn to warm my heart in the hospital overnight, sitting next to a collection of stuffed friends to keep me company. I’m left standing here thinking how lucky I am to have people in my life to hold me up when I am falling down. Which you know is more than likely to happen if you have ever met my disaster laden self.

So the books and furniture may have to move and someone may have to help me up the stairs and off the couch. I will have to continue the meds, hobble, ice, repeat routine for a while.

But I will get stronger and I will beat them. 😉

 

3 thoughts on “When Advil and Ice Simply Don’t Suffice

Thank you for your comment