Poemy Monday the Second

slice-of-life_individual

That House

It’s got a master bath,
that house we’re not going to buy.

What it doesn’t have,
is a soon to be paid off mortgage.

It’s got an attached garage,
that house we’re not going to buy.

What it doesn’t have,
is a school with already life long friends.

It’s got an in-ground pool,
that house we’re not going to buy.

What it doesn’t have,
is those new make your heart happy doors.

It’s got four bedrooms,
that house we’re not going to buy.

What it doesn’t have,
is that Japanese Maple handed down.

It’s got a walk in closet,
that house we’re not going to buy.

What it doesn’t have,
is all the stories this house has.

That house we’re not going to buy.
It doesn’t hold a candle to the one we have.

8 thoughts on “Poemy Monday the Second

  1. This makes feel all cozy inside!! I feel the same way about my house without all the fancy amenities. I love it. There’s no place like home, and it looks like you’ve found a keeper.

  2. “soon to be paid!” You got me with that one. Social pressures and culture always tell you to get more, bigger, better at the expense of you slaving away to pay more debt. No worth it. None of those things will make you as happy. Very creative how you put it together.

  3. Love the format of your poem and your repeated line. Pointing out all the new things that people always want, but showing that you cherish the memories you have made and that those memories are truly what is most important to you.

  4. As I read your awesome poem, I was thinking about how I am always saying we need a bigger house. Yes, it would have a bigger kitchen, area for the kids to hang out with their friends, BUT it wouldn’t have the memories of bringing home my babies to their house, celebrations of birthdays and accomplishments, crazy moments when things break down, and neighbors that we cherish. Sooo, maybe my house isn’t huge and doesn’t have the big open floor plan that I would love, but it does have memories filled with fun times with my family and friends.

Thank you for your comment