Spring Loading

slice-of-life_individual

Spring is loading here in Chicago. I can only hope it stalls like those never ending PC updates that take forever. Better yet. like an old AOL dial up connection.

Alas,
The day is light and sunny at 6pm.
The birds have arrived in the darkness of morning.
The basketballs are incessantly thumping.
The moisture in the air is falling in what is decidedly not snow.

All things this quietness, darkness, coldness, winterness loving gal despises.

All things that point towards the arrival of Spring and my main nemesis, Summer.

All reaffirmed as I tried to take a picture of the loud, obnoxious, and yet annoyingly beautiful cardinal raucously announcing its presence atop the bush next to my car. Only to have it fly away as I tried to take a picture and slammed my delicate finger in the car door.

Like it was sending karma my way for my staunchly stubborn position.

It really is the beginning of the end.

7 thoughts on “Spring Loading

  1. Your reluctance about spring surprised me because it’s such a different approach than most. I love winter too, but must admit I’m glad for spring… minus those birds chirping when it is still dark outside.

  2. I am so excited for the sounds of Spring, but you kind of having me longing for the quiet the Winter brings. I’m just excited for not having to bundle up so much!

  3. I love that you compared it to AOL dial up!!! I can hear the sound now… I’m a little disappointed that you are a spring hater, but it did make for a fun Slice.

  4. I adored your title! I am always a bit apprehensive about the springtime due to my allergies. Alas, I love the warmer temps. Though my favorite holiday will always be autumn.

    I am in Norfolk through tomorrow. It was 74 degrees here today. Cherry blossoms and daffodils are in full bloom. I took a walk in short sleeves while FaceTiming my daughter. She was shocked. It’s going to be hard to leave this to head back to PA tomorrow!

Thank you for your comment