The Unsleeping Mind

3:30 a.m. Mind whirling, thinking, planning, worrying, holding me just out of reach of sleep.

Too much to think about? Too many things going on? World problems that need solving? Probably, but that’s not in the cards  tonight. Tonight it is simply some mother’s intuition.

3:35 a.m. Crying, whimpering, hollering.

mommy

My only thing to think about becomes the reason for that crying. All the things going on become the earache, stuffy nose,  and coughing. And my world problem shrinks down to the boogery sad mess that is now in my arms looking for comfort and someone to make it all go away.

 

 

5 thoughts on “The Unsleeping Mind

  1. I agree.. You captured it. I think even just as a woman- we are natural born multitasking, analyzers and problem solvers. We carry the weight of the world on our shoulders. And then enters this little person (persons) that just steal our hearts away. I heard a quote before something like…”I used to wear my heart on my sleeve, now it just runs around outside my body as my two year old..”

  2. Yes the most important thing to worry about is your little girl, at that point nothing else matters. It’s funny how the things you used to worry about simply don’t seem as important anymore.

Thank you for your comment