Learning to Surf

So. Teaching is not really the chosen profession for a lot of introverts. As a teacher, your charge needs to last all day. And it probably runs down by 10 am for a lot of us. But I’ve always found that the kids are easy- it’s like they’re little charging stations scattered around the room. Just being around them, sharing their inquiry and wonder is like soaking up sun after a long, dull winter. There are no waves of uncertainty for me in communicating with kids or even with your fellow teachers about said kids. I saw a poster the other day that said, “You can’t stop the waves, but you can learn to surf.” I can surf in a room of kids. No problem man.

People I work with are sometimes surprised that I consider myself an introvert. I talk. A LOT. But my husband knows it, as does anyone that knows me well. I’m like a rechargeable battery. Once my charge runs down, I need to plug in and rebuild my energy reserve. These people can attest to the moments they just sigh and walk away, knowing that I need to reset. And I’ve had to reset a lot lately.

Being in new water, with unfamiliar currents,  I feel like I am learning how to surf all over again.  Wipeouts happen frequently. I’m connected to my board though, so I pull myself back up. I just have to learn how to read the waves.

you cant stop the waves

 

9 thoughts on “Learning to Surf

  1. I can so identify with this post. I would never be considered an introvert, but by the endof a school day I am one. We put out so much energy all day long that at the end of it we (or I) just need to recharge my batteries. I need time without talking much. You worded it so cleverly!

  2. You may not be as much of an introvert as you think. You’re putting your ideas out there every day! Thanks for sharing this.

  3. I can’t surf, nor will I ever surf, as it requires way too much time spent in a swimsuit to be “good.” But surfing in a room of kids? That perhaps I can do. 🙂

    I myself talk a lot. I can’t help it. But, I consider myself shy. I can’t decide if the “old me” was shy and I have overcome it, or if I still actually am and just deal with it better. But perhaps an introvert would be a better term. I’ll have to think about that…

    Thanks for another great post.

Thank you for your comment