Dear Hair

Oh hair, you keep her head warm- with that much mop, there isn’t really an alternative. No scarves necessary, she tells me, just wrap the end around and you make her fuzzy warm. Sigh.

I don’t have the energy to fight the willpower you provide. It’s like the tangles that multiply every time I turn my head, have a hypnotizing effect on her. She doesn’t mind at all the birds’ nests that take up residence over her ears. She is an animal lover after all.

You’ve managed to go such a long time, avoiding the scissors, the brush, the comb, the fingers. It’s quite the miracle really, or the kid simply has a very tired momma. I’m leaning toward the miracle though. I tell you, you’ve given her a steely resolve. Not even the fancy and smooth doos of her besties break her.

You’re a lot darker than you used to be, partly because you are beginning to rival Rapunzel in length. I think if we trimmed you, you would lighten up a bit. I tried that argument once, but you know what I was told hair? Belle, Pocahontas, and Mulan, to name a few, have beautiful darker hair. Oh geez, really?

We’ve reached a braided stalemate mister. It’s buying me some reprieve from the tantrum inducing, tear falling brushing sessions. I suppose I can thank you for that. Although you’ve been looking a little fuzzy around the edges lately, I mean it’s looking lovely my dear. Just lovely.

 

7 thoughts on “Dear Hair

  1. This post makes me smile. I have long, dark, curly, unruly hair and I can vividly remember a childhood spent hiding behind chairs when my mom got out the hairbrush. Don’t worry, even though you may be losing the battle against the hair today, you will eventually win the war! Wishing you luck (and the right concoction of products!)!

  2. Great idea for a slice! My daughter donated her hair this fall after being inspired by a classmate, and I was so thrilled to put those long-hair days behind me–hoping she keeps it short!!

  3. I have naturally curly hair and always hated it as a youngster. Then I grew up and started 4-wheeling, paddle boarding, charging up volcanoes, swimming in lagoons, etc. Now, I love it! All I have to do is dampen my palms, pat my hair and I have the best doo of anyone!

  4. My daughter has hair that she hates to have brushed, and we have 2 “magic brushes” that detangle all the knots that she creates when she twirls her hair. They have both been missing for 2 weeks, and I haven’t had the energy or time to look for them. Needless to say she has had 2 bad hair weeks.

    This was hilarious.

Thank you for your comment