Bionic Me

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

I’m exercising. 

Physical therapy counts as exercise, no? 

My husband is continuously laughing on the inside as he tongue in cheek counts through the required reps for knee bends that he must be there for “just in case.” Part of me thinks he wants a front row seat to the train wreck that is me having to exert energy beyond walking from point a to point b.

My lack of love for all things physical is really biting me in the butt these days. I have a 6-year-old and I work in a school so I am no stranger to motion and movement. Does anyone notice me sweating around the brow when I jump in with a room of 8 year-olds taking a brain break? Most likely,no. 

Apparently I’m going to be jumping (ha!) on the exercise train. The most voluntary exercise I’ve done in the last decade is …oh, never mind. 

The problem I’m finding is that therapy is really helping my broken side. It hurts like hell but every session leaves me feeling like a superhero in the making. 

Why is that a problem? Well as most humans do, I have two sides. And the other side is wholly unfit. 

So I fear I’m becoming bionic.

But only half.

8 thoughts on “Bionic Me

  1. Funny one! I know you and so I know all that you say here to be true! I can totally relate -by the way. Exercising just isn’t fun. Why do people insist that it is?!?! You and I know better. Good luck…with the other half!

  2. So cute! Happy healing. I have so many questions. I love how you gave just enough info to give me an idea of your situation but not enough for me to truly understand. Better half than none 🙂

  3. Cute, creative, and oh so funny. I seriously need to do some “jumping (ha!) on the exercise train” myself. Good luck on getting those two sides to work together in harmony. LOL Keep up the good work my friend.

  4. It sounds like you’re doing all the right things to help yourself recover. I hope that both sides soon make you feel bionic! In the meantime, be patient with yourself and give yourself the time you need to heal.

  5. This slice was so fun to read. The last lines, “So I fear I’m becoming bionic.But only half,” made me smile. I don’t really like exercising, but I like the results. Get better soon!

  6. Lol KIM! We will have to call you the bionic woman! Did you know there was a television show called The Six Million Dollar Man starring Lee Majors? Later they made a spinoff with a bionic woman featuring Farrah Fawcett Majors. Glad you are doing well with PT. This was a very clever piece of writing. I like your style.

Thank you for your comment